mobile-menu mobile-menu-arrow

Scottish Ensemble – Chamber Notes


Sunday 7th October
Tickets From: £14.61
Book Tickets

Scottish Ensemble –

Chamber Notes

The Scottish Ensemble is the UK’s leading string orchestra. A collective of outstanding musicians championing music for strings. Crossing styles, musical periods, genres and art forms, SE aims to create exhilarating musical experiences that forge new connections between people, places and ideas.

Join Scottish Ensemble musicians and one of the UK’s most distinctive clarinettists, Matthew Hunt, as they explore both works at this afternooon concer

Clarinet Quintet in A major

Clarinet Quintet in B minor

John Luther Adams
The Wind in High Places [movement 2]

Mozart and Brahms wrote just one clarinet quintet each, both in the final years of their lives. Their inherent quality and charm, not only their solitary status, has always made these quintets stand out amongst each composer’s repertoire.

Mozart’s quintet is now one of his best-known pieces and one of the most cherished in the clarinet repertoire. Moments of understated virtuosity bloom from a soft, calm, mellow beauty.

Brahms’ quintet – modelled on Mozart’s, as so many of his works are – is similarly autumnal in mood, with waves of contemplative major and melancholic minor moods shifting like sunlight.


Ticket Information

Location: Crichton Memorial Church

Standard Tickets: £13.00 plus £1.61 booking fee Under 26: £10.00 plus £1.37 booking fee Under 16: Free

Book Tickets

Get The Newsletter

Last Minute deals and more...